Skip links
Published on: Spanish Podcast

Breve historia de la Nueva España

New Spain or, more accurately, the Viceroyalty of New Spain was the first of four viceroyalties established by the Spanish Empire in the Americas with the goal to better oversee the Crown’s new territories.

From 1521 until its disintegration in 1821, the Viceroyalty of New Spain extended across what is now Mexico, several states of the United States, including California, Oregon, and Florida, and a number of islands and territories in Central America.

Click play to learn about the history of the Nueva España!